top of page
Search
  • horrorbeard73

SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES; INDIE SPOTLIGHT - Brian Berry

A total treat for you horror lovers today as I get to interview the legend on the indie scene that is Brian Berry. Known to both his readers and his peers alike as one of the most gracious, and friendly authors on the scene, and for his mind-blowing novel covers, Brian has amassed a loyal following. Let see what he has to say.


Something Wicked This Way Comes - When did you know you wanted to be an author?

Brian Berry - A couple of years ago after reading a book by David Irons. He inspired my hand. I’ve always enjoyed reading, but not to the degree his books opened up for me. After I read a few of his, I was like: yeah, I can do this. I need to do this.


SWTWC - Where are you from and where are you now?

BB - From Santa Clara, California. I reside in Washington State now.


SWTWC - What has your life been like so far?

BB - An adventure filled with my ups and downs and side to sides. I’ve held numerous jobs and positions, but spend my time now mostly writing and reading and enjoying my family.


SWTWC - What other jobs have you had?

BB - Worked for UPS for a pinch over a decade, but lost that due to COVID. I served briefly in the Army, and have worked labor most of my existence.


SWTWC - Does writing energize or exhaust you?

BB - Energize. I can’t get enough, and I’ll never stop.



SWTWC - What are common traps for aspiring writers?

BB - Setting aside one WIP and starting another. I think we all do it, but it’s important to get that initial piece complete so it’s out of your head.


SWTWC - What is your writing Kryptonite?

BB - I’d say … not a whole lot to be honest about it. I can write with noise, and peace, and pretty much any environment. Nothing keeps me from it when I’m focused to do it.


SWTWC - Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

BB - I have not, and I’m grateful for that.


SWTWC - Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

BB - I have, and intend to. *laughs spookily*


SWTWC - What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better

BB - I’m friends with many great authors and recently befriended my idol: Tim Curran. That still feels unreal to me. I won’t mention names because I fear I’ll forget someone. The list is long, and for that, my heart is strong.


SWTWC - What authors did you dislike at first but grew into?

BB - Not a whole lot. Not even one. I can say that I’ve never been partial to Steven (? Stephen?) King.


SWTWC - What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

BB - Writing my first book. It had an impact and from there, it just took, and words grew too tremendous power in my prose—at least I like to believe so.


SWTWC - As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot/avatar/spirit animal?

BB - Werewolf. Because I’m a beast, my friend.


SWTWC - How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

BB - This will contradict one of my earlier answers, but I’ll lie and admit thirty-five.


SWTWC - What does literary success look like to you?

BB - I’m happy when someone enjoys my book to any degree. It really warms my heart, and that, I consider a success with my craft.


SWTWC – Where do you get your inspiration?

BB - Many of the classic authors; notable Robert E. Howard, who struggled and studied his ass off, only to become a huge success later on after his death.


SWTWC – How many hours a day do you write?

BB - Around five when I’m working on a project, which is pretty much actively. My longest amount: twelve hours.


SWTWC - Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

BB - I used to, until I was crushed, then I stopped, and have since learned to find love with my writing again. I do read the ones that I’m tagged in, but don’t go out of my way to read reviews on GR or Amazon, or elsewhere. I generally just see the star count.


SWTWC - Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?

BB - Yes: only people who have read my earliest books may recognize names of towns and killers—stuff like that.


SWTWC - What is your favorite childhood book?

BB - The Chocolate Touch, and My Teacher is an Alien.


SWTWC - I am a huge horror fan. Mainly of the mid to late 80’s. Do you love horror movies and what is ‘your’ go-to horror era and fave movie?

BB - Absolutely LOVE horror movies. It’s pretty much ALL I watch. My era is the 80s, all the way. My horror movies loop 80s. Favorite movie? That’s the hardest question I’ve been asked. I’ll just say, for now: Slumber Party Massacre. It scared the shit out of me as a kid, and it’s stuck with me ever since.


SWTWC - Favourite cartoons as a kid? What shows made you happy?

BB - GI JOE, TMNT, The Real Ghostbusters, Transformers, He-Man—you name it, I probably watched it. Shows made me happy? All of the above, and Alf.



SWTWC - Does your family support your career as a writer?

BB - Heavily, thankfully.


SWTWC - Do you believe in writer’s block?

BB - No. I believe that sometimes, in my case, if I’m leaning on something that may have the same symptoms, I tend to just write something else then find my path again and jump back into my WIP.


SWTWC - What are you planning next?

BB - I have projects that I can’t speak about but I’m nearly BURSTING from admitting. But I won’t. I’ll continue with my Slasherback Series, and VHS Trash Series; also, creating a few news ones too. I’m working on some epic space opera style books, and even Historical Fiction.


SWTWC; Now some quick fire questions, are you ready?

BB - Always.


SWTWC – OK, let’s do this….television series or movie?

BB - Movie.


SWTWC – Delivery or sit-down restaurant?

BB - Restaurant


SWTWC – Board games or card games?

BB - Board Games for life.


SWTWC – Video games or books?

BB - Books



SWTWC – Paperback book or eBook?

BB - PB baby


SWTWC – Summer or Winter?

BB - Summer


SWTWC – Beach or forest?

BB - Forest


SWTWC – Die Hard is an Xmas film, yes or no?

BB - Of course!


SWTWC – Morning or night?

BB - Where the creatures lurk.


SWTWC – Shopping in-store or online?

BB - ONLINE.


SWTWC – Shower or bath?

BB - Shower.


SWTWC – Call or text?

BB - Text


SWTWC – Sausage or bacon?

BB - Both entwined


SWTWC – Cats or dogs?

BB - Ruff ruff’s


SWTWC – Rock or hip hop?

BB - ROCK


SWTWC – Coffee or tea?

BB - Tea


SWTWC – Turquoise…is it blue or green?

BB - Black


SWTWC – Sleep on the left or the right side of the bed?

BB - Left


SWTWC – Friday 13th or Halloween?

BB - Jason


SWTWC – The Thing or Alien?

BB - THING!


SWTWC – American Werewolf in London or Dog Soldiers?

BB - American Werewolf


SWTWC – IT (1990) or IT (2017)?

BB - 1990


SWTWC – Lost Boys or Fright Night?

BB - Fuck … LOST BOYS (I was born where they filmed it.)


SWTWC – Shining or Amityville?

BB - Amityville!


SWTWC – Best film in the Halloween franchise?

BB - Original


SWTWC – Favourite decade for horror movies?

BB - 1980s!


SWTWC – vampire, slasher, werewolf, zombie or ghost films?

BB - Slasher


SWTWC – Red Hot Chili Peppers or The Foo Fighters?

BB - Rammstein


SWTWC – Kong; Skull Island or Godzilla; King of Monsters

BB - Rawhead Rex


SWTWC – Marvel or Dc?

BB - E*C!


SWTWC – An asteroid is about to destroy the Earth in 7 hrs...pick three films to watch

BB - Slumber Party Massacre, Commando, The Thing


SWTWC - Pick your last meal on Death Row; starter, main and a desert + a drink.

BB - Pizza and cheesecake with a basket of chocolate chip cookies right out of the goddamn oven and a six pack of 10% IPA


SWTWC – thank you for being probed

BB - It’s one of my favorite hobbies.


Find Brian here. Facebook; https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=account...

105 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page