top of page
Search
  • horrorbeard73

...AND NOBODY KNOWS IT BUT ME by Megan Stockton

I was admittedly already a fan of Megan's work going into reading this novel, yet had I not been this masterpiece would have sealed the deal.

Up until this, Quiet, Pretty Things by her was my all-time favourite novel and in forty-nine years I have read a lot of books. Yet as I worked my way through this book I could tell that it was going to surpass that and become my all-time favourite number one.

The story follows Lakin Douglas as he arrives in the small town of Rotten Fork to investigate the possibility of a wolf attack only to discover a town that is shrouded in secrets and ancient history.

Animals are going missing, followed by a child, and then adults are attacked, and try as he might Lakin just cannot extricate himself from the chain of events that begin to spiral out of control around him, all the while trying to come to terms with his own personal grief from a recent event.

Its a powerful novel, filled with subtext, and it is impossible, for me at least, to not help but be drawn into the claustrophobic confines of the web that seems to be closing around Lakin as more and more secrets are unveiled and more people are attacked.

Megan writes a skill that leaves the reader feeling like they are part of the community, as she did previously in Quiet, Pretty Things, and the visuals that she creates are flawless.

Added to this are characters that you feel you know, realistically crafted, who have real conversations. I always liken Megan's character interactions to those of Tarantino, where the characters talk, not just about stuff relevant to the plot but just talk, which gives them life and stops them being one-dimensional.

Also, it was great to once again see the easter egg that Megan sticks in all her novels which ties them all together. He really is the greatest NPC of all time.

All in all, this was a fantastically executed piece of work which at one point had me in tears and then at the end had me in total shock, followed by a night of laying in bed thinking back over the novel again and again and again.

It will definitely be re-read and enjoyed again.

Also, the cover is utterly breathtaking in my opinion.

Well played Megan, well played


Find it here; https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nobody-Knows-but-Me-ebook/dp/B0BSMG31CX/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=...And+Nobody+Knows+it+but+Me&qid=1674367319&s=books&sr=1-1 Review it here (and Amazon); https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/63115240-and-nobody-knows-it-but-me


22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page