top of page
Search
  • horrorbeard73

EMMA MILES - More than Good Enough.

Another break from horror as we have a chat with the very lovely Emma Miles, author of twelve fantasy novels, with a thirteenth on the way. I have been lucky enough to have been friends with Emma for twelve years now after we were introduced by a mutual friend, and in that time she has gone from strength to strength. Ladies and gentle-dudes...its Emma Miles...

Something Wicked This Way Comes – When did you know you wanted to be an author?

Emma Miles - When I was very young. I always loved telling stories and inventing worlds inside my head to lose myself in. I started writing things down, including poetry, when I was seven.


SW - What has your life been like so far?

EM - Tough, like most people’s. I’ve had a long battle with depression, some days it wins, others, I do. I have found joy in having the most wonderful friends who tolerate my introverted and unsociable ways. And I have my beautiful cats. Sadly I have a lot of regrets, I tend to make the wrong choice when it comes to huge life choices.


SW - Where are you from and where are you now?

EM - I’m originally from Windsor, which I still think of as home. I’ve ended up in Dorset presently due to my job.


SW - What other jobs have you had?

EM - I mostly worked in retail in my younger days, then joined the railway twenty years ago where I still work.


SW - Tell us about your personal favourite novel of yours. Brag a little.

EM - I don’t have a favourite, and I really don’t do bragging! I’m close to publishing my thirteenth novel, though, The Witch of Elden, which concludes my Fire-Walker and Land Beneath the Sky series. I’m really excited for people to read it. I’m hoping it will keep people guessing who is on whose side and who the real enemy is. Of course, as well as plot twists, there is plenty of magic, monsters, heartache, and unbreakable friendships.


SW - Does writing energize or exhaust you?

EM - It can do both. I write obsessively and can feel anxious when kept away from it. But there are times I dive so deeply into it I’m left drained and emotionally exhausted.


SW - What are common traps for aspiring writers?

EM - There are a lot of unscrupulous people out there waiting to take advantage of a writer’s hopes and dreams. Beware of anyone asking for money to publish your work, you shouldn’t have to pay for publication, not even for self-publishing. If someone is asking you for money to publish your work, they are conning you. The only costs should be for an editor, proof-reader, cover designer, and marketing.


SW - What is your writing Kryptonite?

EM; Self-doubt.


SW - Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

EM - Yes. It usually happens after I read an exceptional book that I’ve been completely lost inside. Sometimes when I try something else afterwards, I can’t get into it, and will pick up and put down a few books before I find one I can settle into.


SW - Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

EM - Yes. Writing under a pseudonym allows for much more freedom without worrying about what your mum will think of it!


SW - What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

EM - I have a circle of wonderful writer friends who act as my beta readers, so I test my work out on them before finalising a new book. Their amazing support and understanding of what it is like to be a writer keeps me going through all my moments of self-doubt.

And there is of course my wonderful friend Kelvin V.A. Allison who first encouraged me to go for it with self-publishing and who constantly supports my work. I probably wouldn’t have twelve books published now if I hadn’t met Kelvin.


SW - What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

EM - I have a lot of younger cousins who used to stay with me in my room when I was a child. They used to love my stories and usually asked for ghost stories. One night a particularly young cousin was with us, and after I told my story she got frightened and couldn’t sleep. So I told a second story about a magic pillow that protected sleepers from monsters and ghosts, so my little cousin could sleep peacefully, and it worked. I realised then the power of storytelling.


SW - As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot/avatar/spirit animal?

EM - Anyone who knows me wouldn’t be surprised at me saying a cat!


SW - How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

EM - I have a novel close to completion that’s just gone out to my beta readers, and I have just started on my next novel. I have a lot of ideas waiting in the background for their turn, but nothing abandoned on the side lines.


SW - What does literary success look like to you?

EM - Hearing from a reader that they loved my work and that it touched their soul.


SW - What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

EM - I have to do research on a lot of different subjects, some of it more in depth than others. I spent a lot of time learning about sailing masted ships, including a visit to the Victory in Portsmouth to grill their guides for everything they could tell me. I did a lot of research on horseback archery, including studying Genghis Khan and Atilla the Hun for tactics. Then there’s the use of herbs for various ailments/healing, and I recently had to research what cadavers look and smell like at various time points after death.


SW - What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

EM - Once I get inside a character’s head, their story tends to flow without too much concern for gender. However, as a fantasy writer I have to be aware of things like societal differences that might affect certain behaviours and freedoms. Also differing peer pressures and self-perceptions based on upbringing that differs by gender. There are of course also physical differences that as a woman I’ll never experience in reality, but that’s nothing a good imagination can’t get around! And I have a lot of good male friends I can ask questions!


SW - How do you select the names of your characters?

EM - Sometimes from translating words into different languages, sometimes taking parts of the names of football players or merging them together. Other times just mixing sounds I like to come up with something that suits the character; for example, something curt and strong, or gentle and flowing.


SW - Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

EM - I do, though I probably shouldn’t. The good ones make my heart glow and give me reason to keep going. The bad ones sometimes make me laugh, but can also hurt. Some comments have helped me find areas to improve on.


SW - Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?

EM - There are one or two little things I put in for particular loyal and supportive readers, knowing they will love them. It’s a way of saying thank you.


SW - What was your hardest scene to write?

EM - Without spoilers, in my latest novel that isn’t out yet, some of the characters have to say a final and permanent farewell to each other. That was tough. I cried a lot writing that scene.

I used to hate writing any romantic scenes when I was younger, but I don’t mind those so much now!


SW - Do you Google yourself?

EM - Only to check my media platforms are visible. Sadly, marketing is part of being a writer.


SW - What is your favourite childhood book?

EM - The very hungry caterpillar!

SW - That really is an amazing photograph. Why were you dressed as the Hungry Caterpillar?

EM - I did a quiz during lockdown and dressed up as different characters for people to guess to try and cheer people up. It was mostly book characters I tried to do. Hence hungry caterpillar.


SW - What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

EM - Writing a blurb. I hate those blighters!


SW - Does your family support your career as a writer?

EM - My parents are two of my biggest fans. My sister, who is also a writer, resents me doing well and tried to bully/blackmail me into stopping my writing.


SW; We have been friends for well over a decade now, and I can recall when you first went to indie publish, and someone accused you of vanity publishing and said you weren't a real author. I know it knocked you back then but how do you feel about it now, a decade later with twelve novels to your name? EM - I was hurt and upset to be accused of vanity publishing, the way the accusation was put across by the person suggested it meant my work wasn't good enough. I'm glad I took the Indie author and self-publishing route though. I love having complete control over my work, including choosing my own editor and cover designs. I can also set my own publishing schedule. And the many fabulous reviews I get have proved my doubter wrong regarding my work not being good enough

SW - Well, I am glad you did too. You are more than good enough. You always have been.


SW - How long on average does it take you to write a book?

EM - It used to take me years, now I usually complete one – including editing, re-writes, and proof reads – in about six months.


SW - Do you believe in writer’s block?

EM - Yes, I get it now and then. It’s usually when there is too much going on in my life and it’s harder to focus and lose myself in my work. I sometimes find binge watching films and series, or binge reading, can relax me enough and inspire me to get started again.


SW - What are you planning next?

EM - I’ve just started the early writing and planning stages of a prequel to my Fire-Walker saga. After that I’m moving on to something completely new that I’m really excited about.


SW; Thank you again for the opportunity to do this interview, lovely talking with you as always


Amazon Author Page


Facebook Author Page


20 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page