top of page
Search
  • horrorbeard73

LISA HUTCHINSON - Don't let others dull your Sparkle!

I first met out next interviewee in 2019 through a mutual acquaintance and since then we have not only become firm friends but also released two horror novels, with the third due for release soon. Ladies and gentledudes…its Lisa Hutchinson.


Something Wicked This Way Comes - When did you know you wanted to be an author?

Lisa Hutchinson - Ever since I was a child, I always loved to write and be creative. As I got older other things just seemed to take over. Education, family, and peers always push you to look at careers and work that includes a set wage, no one ever encourages you to write. I Never really considered writing in later life till a fellow author suggested I give it a try. Safe to say I haven't looked back.


SW - What has your life been like so far?

LH - Like anyone else's I guess. No one has the perfect life. I didn't have the best teenage years. Uncertainty, isolation, and bullying. I witnessed things I should not have seen or been around. It pushed me down a dark path for a lot of years. I eventually reached out for help in 2017. A diagnosis and shit loads of therapy paved the way to change and get over the past. Becoming a mother saved me, my boys are my world and are the reason I try hard and push myself now.


SW - Where are you from and where are you now?

LH - I am from the UK. Born and raised in a tiny village in the Northeast. Surrounded by fields, just the way I like it. I moved around a little but never strayed far from my roots. Now back to my tiny village raising my boys with my amazing partner James.


SW - What other jobs have you had?

LH - I've done cleaning, a taxi controller, but my main career has been in the Care Sector. I have looked after the elderly and vulnerable adults for about seventeen years. I've seen loss, been a shoulder to cry on, a hand to hold and a smiling face on their darkest days. I will never regret my career in care as it taught me so much and was so rewarding.


SW - Tell us about your personal favourite novel of yours. Brag a little.

LH - As much as I love the novel 12, co-written with the amazing Kelvin V A Allison, I think Ghoul: The Beginning was where I really found my footing and really pushed my creativity. Creating a new monster and delving into something new was fantastic. It helps to have an epic co-author though, one that encourages me and pushes me forward.


SW - Does writing energize or exhaust you?

LH - Exhausts me, my heart races and I feel anxious as shit! I take that as a good sign though. Feel like I'm pushed to my true potential that way.


SW - What are common traps for aspiring writers?

LH - Having others doubting you. Don't let others dull your Sparkle. I was always made to feel like I wasn't good enough but now look. Two novels done, another almost finished and feeling happy about where I am.


SW - What is your writing Kryptonite?

LH - My children. I don't get much time to sit alone and focus but I make do with what time i have, usually when the baby is asleep on me.


SW - Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

LH - No, can't say I have.


SW - Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

LH - I considered it but then realised I was proud to have my name out there so why hide it? My novels are achievements to me. I'm thankful for each one.


SW - What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

LH - Kelvin V A Allison of course. My co-author and great friend. The guy that pushed me to follow my goals and find my true potential.


SW - What authors did you dislike at first but grew into?

LH - If I dislike an author’s work, I will just give up on them so don't have the chance to grow into them. To be honest I only tend to read work from authors I enjoy as then I know, nine times out of ten that I will enjoy the novel.


SW - What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

LH - At school. I can think of two experiences, both in English lesson. I was bullied and we had to recite a poem to the class. I read one about being bullied. I think it made people realise I was not going to take it lying down. I was finally standing up for myself. I saw a few red faces that day, shame, and embarrassment hit them for sure.

The second incident was where we had to do a written paper on someone that inspired or interested us. I did mine on the wrestler Mick Foley. I shocked a lot of people that day. No one had any idea who I really was. The quiet girl who kept her head down and just got on for peace. Safe to say it shocked a lot of people.


SW - What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

LH - This is a difficult one as the author is awesome but still hasn't got all their work out there. The novel in question was Babble by Kelvin V A Allison, that's the novel that made me realise that potentially I could start writing, it was creative, kept me engaged and enjoyable. I wanted to be able to create the magic he does.


SW - As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot/avatar/spirit animal?

LH - My children. They push me to try my hardest. They are my inspiration and keep me trying to be the best version of myself.


SW - How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

LH - Currently one almost finished book, the sequel to Ghoul. Just need to finish and edit then we are good to go. Currently on jotting ideas down for my first novel as a solo author, watch this space.


SW - What does literary success look like to you?

LH - Having my nearest and dearest enjoy the work I do. Its not about the money, its about embracing doing it and people enjoying what I do.


SW - What kind of research do you do, and how long do you spend researching before beginning a book?

LH - I just go with it. If I need to research, I will so it as and when I need to. Let's just say I'm hectic and unprepared in life.


SW - What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

LH - I haven't found an issue with it. I would like to think I have a decent amount of knowledge living with three of the opposite sex.


SW - How do you select the names of your characters?

LH - Randomly. I just go for it. Throw a name out there and if it rolls off the tongue I use it.


SW - Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

LH - I do. I do often take the negative ones to heart, but find having a co-author, we can discuss them which makes them more manageable. I do love the good ones though, nothing better than knowing someone has enjoyed your work.


SW - Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?

LH - I haven't yet but may have to begin doing this. Good to keep the readers on their toes.


SW - What was your hardest scene to write?

LH - I don’t do well with animals or children dying...that's all I'm going to say.


SW - Do you Google yourself?

LH – Can’t say I ever have, I don't find myself interesting enough to.


SW – You have recently had a new baby, how do you find the time for writing around parenthood?

LH - It's a struggle, my partner works hard so I always have both boys. I am currently writing this with a sleeping baby in my arms. That's my life right now, but I make it work.


SW - What is your favorite childhood book?

LH - Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Without a doubt. I guess I always felt like Alice. Lost in an unknown world.


SW - What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

LH - Actually getting it down on paper, the ideas flow but then my mind goes into overdrive so I struggle with the structure and making sure it's all in there. Also I have a fair bit of self-doubt so worry it isn't good enough.


SW - Does your family support your career as a writer?

LH - The ones that matter do.


SW - How long on average does it take you to write a book?

LH - It depends. Obviously it takes longer now I have a little one dependent on me. Hence why it helps having a co-author.


SW - Do you believe in writer’s block?

LH- I do. Luckily it hasn't hit me yet. There is still time though!


SW - What are you planning next?

LH - I am currently on planning my first solo novel as mentioned before. Really pushing myself to the limit. It’s quite a scary prospect doing it alone, no confirmation that what I'm doing is any good, we will see. I'm excited for the whole process yet shitting myself at the same time haha.


SW - Thank you again for chatting with us.

LH - Thanks for listening to me waffle on.


Ghoul; the Beginning


12

62 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page